About Northern Cross-Island Highway

Northern Cross-Island Highway (Provincial Highway 7) starts from Touliao of Daxi District of Taoyuan City, enters Yilan County after Xicun of Fuxing District, and ends at Gongguan of Zhuangwei Township of Yilan County. The total length is 129.7km. It is an important east-west highway in northern Taiwan, passing through Taoyuan City, New Taipei City, and Yilan County. Northern Cross-Island Highway features the unique magnificent landscapes of high mountains, rift valleys, tunnels, and rivers as the important domestic mountain recreation area. The footsteps of travelers and the trend of the times have inspired various theme tours.

 

The development history of Northern Cross-Island Highway is not only the development history of traffic. It is connected with the ethnic and cultural development in different time and space, covering the traditional Atayal culture, the Japanese colonial culture, and the Han culture of Daxi. With the progress of history, the conflicts and integration of the three cultures have been imprinted on the dozens of settlements along the highway: Sanceng, Touliao, Cihu, Baiji, Sanmin, Zeren, Xiayunping (Habun), Yisheng, Yixing, Luofu (Rahao), Xikou, Gaopo, Dawan, Ronghua (Raga), Kayilan, Lian (Piyaway), Gaoyi (Kauiiland), Sule (Suru, aka Solo), Sanguang, Yeheng, Baling (Balong), Daman, Xuanyuan, Sileng, Xicun (border of Taoyuan City and Yilan County).

 

Cultural Corridor of Northern Cross-Island Highway

(I) During the Qing Dynasty: Conflicts between the Han and the Indigenous People

Daxi (Dakekeng), as the start of Northern Cross-island Highway, used to be where the Ketagalan and Msbtunux Atayal gathered. In the middle 18th century, the Fujian and Hakka immigrants moved upstream here and caused exchanges and conflicts between the Han and the indigenous people in this area. In 1886, Liu Ming-chuan set up the “Dakekeng General Affairs Office” of “Taiwan Pacification and Reclamation Head Office” to take charge of the camphor resource development at the Dakekeng and Mkgogan areas. Based on the policies of pacification and reclamation of the indigenous people, it also drew the defense line of frontier guards to separate the living areas of the Han and the indigenous people.

 

(II) Under the Japanese Rule: The Road for Indigenous Management

During the Japanese-ruling period, the Japanese adopted the active policies of indigenous management to exploit the local forests and camphor resources, pushing the defense line of frontier guards farther into the mountains and causing such battles as “Topa Incident” and “Zhentou Mountain Battle” against the local Topa and Msbtunux tribes. The Topa settlement was almost destroyed by the indigenous management, with the remaining more than twenty households relocated at today’s “Xikou Terrace.” After the fierce fights, the Atayal people along the line gradually surrendered. In 1911, the Japanese government built the original defense line of frontier guards into the ancient trail from Taoyuan Jiaoban to Yilan. In 1916, the route of “Jiaoban Sanxing Police Patrol Trail” was officially completed, which was the predecessor of today’s Northern Cross-Island Highway.

 

Under the guidance of the Japanese, the Atayal people started to divert water to furrow irrigate the rice on the terrace. Henceforth, nomadic farming shifted into sedentary farming. Part of the water channel relics can still be found at the Yeheng and Xikou settlements today.

 

(III) After World War II: Northern Cross-Island Highway

From 1963, Taiwan Provincial Government, with the help of veterans, spent three years completing the widening work of the original “Jiaobanshan Sanxing Historic Trail” of the Japanese-ruling period. It became today’s Northern Cross-Island Highway with a total length of 92 km from Taoyuan Daxi to Yilan Datong. The major construction included the two suspension bridges, Fuxing Bridge and Baling Bridge, and an arch bridge, Daman Bridge, all of which were the innovative constructions after the restoration of Taiwan at that time.

 

011989
Total views : 29350

關於北橫

「臺七線」,西起自桃園市大溪區頭寮,行至復興區西村後即進入宜蘭縣境,東端於宜蘭縣壯圍鄉公館終止,全長129.7公里;而「北部橫貫公路(簡稱北橫)」,收編於臺七線,西起自桃園市大溪區,東端於宜蘭縣大同鄉棲蘭百韜橋止,全長81.7公里,與中橫、南橫並列為台灣三大橫貫公路。

臺七線(北部橫貫公路)是北臺灣連接東西向的重要公路,橫跨桃園、新北和宜蘭三個城市。高山、縱谷、隧道、溪流、瀑布構成北橫公路沿線獨特壯麗景觀,向來是國內重要的山區遊憩廊帶,隨著旅人腳步與時代潮流激發多元主題旅遊。

北橫公路的開發史,不僅是交通發展史,更連結了不同時空的族群與文化發展,涵蓋泰雅傳統文化、日本殖民文化、以及以大溪為核心的漢文化。隨著歷史的演進,三種文化的衝突與融合紛紛烙印在公路沿線的數十個聚落上:三層、頭寮、 慈湖、百吉、三民、澤仁、霞雲坪( 哈盆 habun) 、義盛、義興、羅浮(拉號 Rahao)、溪口、高坡、大灣、榮華(羅加Raga)、卡議蘭、里安(比亞外 Piyaway)、高義(卡維蘭Kauiiland)、 蘇樂(Suru,亦作 索洛Solo)、三光、爺亨、 巴陵(巴陵 Balong)、大曼、萱源、四稜、西村(桃宜市縣界)。

北橫的人文走廊

(一) 清領時期漢人拓墾聚集原漢衝突

大溪(大嵙崁)作為北橫公路的起點,起初原是凱達格蘭族及泰雅族前山群聚居之地,十八世紀中葉,閩、客移民沿河逆流而上到此,漸成為漢人與原住民交會、往來、衝突的區域。1886(光緒12)年,劉銘傳設立「臺灣撫墾總局」之「大嵙崁撫墾事務總辦」,處理大嵙崁及後山地區樟腦資源開發,並針對原住民施行開山撫番政策,劃設隘勇線區隔漢、原生活領域。

(二) 日治時期理番政策下的理番道路

日治時期日人為開闢本區的山林與樟腦資源,改採積極的理番政策,將隘勇線推進深入山區。與當地大豹社與大嵙崁前山群爆發數場包括「大豹社事件」、「枕頭山戰役」等戰爭。而大豹社也在理番政策下幾近滅村,剩餘之二十多戶遷移至今下「溪口台地」。幾經慘烈抗爭戰役,沿線泰雅原民逐漸歸順,1911(明治44)年,日本官方將原隘勇線開闢為從桃園角板通往宜蘭的橫斷古道。大正5年( 1916),「角板三星警備道」道路路線正式完工,即為今日北橫道路的前身。

泰雅原民在日人輔導下開始於台地上引水築圳用以灌溉水稻,自此便逐漸從過去游耕轉為定耕型態。至今,包括爺亨部落、溪口部落內仍可見部分當時所興建的水渠遺跡。

(三) 二戰後北部橫貫公路開拓

1963(民國52)年起,臺灣省政府運用榮民的力量進一步將原有日治時期的「角板山三星警備道」歷時3年完成拓寬工程,成為今日自桃園大溪至宜蘭大同全長92公里的北部橫貫公路。主要工程包含復興橋、巴陵橋等吊橋兩座,拱橋大曼橋一座,在當時均屬臺灣光復後開創性的工程。

Copyright © 桃園市政府觀光旅遊局 版權所有
|Web Design by I Connect

AD
011137
Total views : 27621